OK

FATCA

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is intended to enforce US taxation around the world. The legislation is designed to ensure that all foreign accounts and investments held by US taxpayers are disclosed. In December 2012, Switzerland and the US initialled a bilateral agreement to enforce the new US legislation in Switzerland. SAAM representatives supported the Swiss State Secretariat for International Financial Matters during the FATCA negotiations and are also present in the FATCA advisory group, thereby ensuring that the interests of independent asset managers are not forgotten in the intensive discussions. Under the bilateral agreement, every financial institution based in Switzerland will have to conclude an agreement with the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The agreement will include due diligence and disclosure requirements.

 

The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014. The Federal Council brought the corresponding implementing act into force on 30 June 2014.

 

FATCA implementation in Switzerland is based on Model 2, which means Swiss financial institutions will disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the consent of the US clients concerned. On 8 October 2014, the Federal Council adopted a mandate to negotiate with the USA on converting the FATCA Agreement to Model 1, which provides for the automatic exchange of information between the respective authorities.  It currently remains unclear when an agreement to this effect will be reached.

 

For independent asset managers in Switzerland, FATCA introduces the following major changes:

 

Registration requirement

 | All asset managers engaged in that activity as their main profession must now register with the US tax authorities. An exception is made only for single-member companies. Detailed information on the specific registration options and associated requirements can be found here.

 

Certification as alternative

 | As an alternative to registration, there is the option of using form W8-BEN-E to be certified for all custodian banks with which one works (this grants the status of "certified deemed-compliant foreign financial institution").

 

Online registration had to be completed by 5 May 2014 in order for independent asset managers to be considered "FATCA-compliant" at the time the agreement entered into force. Upon registering, asset managers obtain a "Global Intermediary Identification Number" (GIIN). Since 1 July 2014, this number has been required of all custodian banks with which an asset manager has dealings, unless the latter submits the appropriate certification document instead.

 

Special activities

 

 | Ancillary trustee and fiduciary activities will either have to be regulated through an additional agreement with the IRS or the custodian bank can choose to operate as an intermediary and stand guarantor for the independent asset manager.

OK

FATCA

Par le biais du «Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act» (FATCA), les Etats-Unis entendent faire valoir leur droit de recouvrement fiscal dans le monde entier. L’objectif visé consiste à obtenir la déclaration de tous les comptes et investissements détenus par des contribuables américains à l’étranger. En décembre 2012, la Suisse et les Etats-Unis ont paraphé un traité d’Etat visant à mettre en oeuvre les nouvelles règles U.S. en Suisse. Les représentants de l’ASG ont soutenu les efforts déployés par le SIF dans le cadre des négociations FATCA et sont également présents dans le groupe de suivi FATCA afin de préserver les intérêts des gérants de fortune indépendants dans les dures négociations. Le traité prévoit qu’en principe les établissements financiers domiciliés en Suisse sont tenus de conclure avec l’IRS (Internal Revenue Service) une convention destinée à régler leurs obligations en matière de diligence  et d’informations.

 

L'accord conclu entre la Suisse et les Etats-Unis facilitant l'application de FATCA ("Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act") pour les établissements financiers suisses est entré en vigueur le 2 juin 2014. Le Conseil fédéral a décidé de mettre en vigueur au 30 juin 2014 la loi d'application correspondante.

 

La mise en oeuvre en Suisse s'effectue selon le modèle 2. Selon ce modèle, les établissements financiers suisses doivent directement transmettre les données de clients américains, avec l'accord de ces derniers, au fisc américain. Le 8 octobre 2014, le Conseil fédéral annonçait un mandat pour des négociations avec les Etats-Unis au sujet d’un passage vers le modèle 1, lequel prévoit un échange automatique d’informations entre les autorités respectives. A l’heure actuelle, il est encore impossible d’avancer une date d’accord définitif.

 

FACTA entraine un certain nombre de nouveautés pour les gestionnaires de fortune indépendants sur le sol suisse:

 

Obligation d’enregistrement

 | Tous les professionnels pour lesquels la gestion de fortune représente l’activité principale doivent s’enregistrer auprès des autorités fiscales américaines. La seule exception concerne les entreprises individuelles. Vous trouverez ici des informations détaillées sur les possibilités d’enregistrement et aux obligations qu’elles entrainent.

 

Certification en tant qu’alternative

 | La possibilité offerte de se faire certifier auprès de toutes les banques de dépôt concernées par une collaboration au moyen du formulaire W8-BEN-E représente une alternative à l’enregistrement susmentionné (cette procédure conduit alors au statut de «certified deemed-compliant foreign financial institution»).

 

L’enregistrement en ligne doit avoir été conclu avant le 5 mai 2014 afin que le GFI soit considéré comme «conforme à FATCA» au moment de l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord. L’enregistrement est associé à l’octroi du «Global Intermediary Identification Number» (GIIN) au gestionnaire de fortune. Ce numéro est exigé depuis le 1er juillet 2014 par toutes les banques de dépôt qui entretiennent une relation avec le gestionnaire de fortune, sauf si ce dernier remet une documentation à la place.

 

Activités annexes

 | Pour les activités annexes en tant que trustee ou agent fiduciaire, il leur faudra soit conclure une convention supplémentaire avec les autorités fiscales américaines, soit demander à la banque de dépôt de fonctionner comme intermédiaire responsable et de cautionner le gérant de fortune indépendant.

 

(voir également la présentation relative à la séance d’information VSV FACTA du 2 juillet 2013 dans la «Member Area» et la newsletter ASG).