OK

FATCA

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is intended to enforce US taxation around the world. The legislation is designed to ensure that all foreign accounts and investments held by US taxpayers are disclosed. In December 2012, Switzerland and the US initialled a bilateral agreement to enforce the new US legislation in Switzerland. SAAM representatives supported the Swiss State Secretariat for International Financial Matters during the FATCA negotiations and are also present in the FATCA advisory group, thereby ensuring that the interests of independent asset managers are not forgotten in the intensive discussions. Under the bilateral agreement, every financial institution based in Switzerland will have to conclude an agreement with the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). The agreement will include due diligence and disclosure requirements.

 

The agreement between Switzerland and the United States on cooperation to simplify the implementation of FATCA entered into force on 2 June 2014. The Federal Council brought the corresponding implementing act into force on 30 June 2014.

 

FATCA implementation in Switzerland is based on Model 2, which means Swiss financial institutions will disclose account details directly to the US tax authority with the consent of the US clients concerned. On 8 October 2014, the Federal Council adopted a mandate to negotiate with the USA on converting the FATCA Agreement to Model 1, which provides for the automatic exchange of information between the respective authorities.  It currently remains unclear when an agreement to this effect will be reached.

 

For independent asset managers in Switzerland, FATCA introduces the following major changes:

 

Registration requirement

 | All asset managers engaged in that activity as their main profession must now register with the US tax authorities. An exception is made only for single-member companies. Detailed information on the specific registration options and associated requirements can be found here.

 

Certification as alternative

 | As an alternative to registration, there is the option of using form W8-BEN-E to be certified for all custodian banks with which one works (this grants the status of "certified deemed-compliant foreign financial institution").

 

Online registration had to be completed by 5 May 2014 in order for independent asset managers to be considered "FATCA-compliant" at the time the agreement entered into force. Upon registering, asset managers obtain a "Global Intermediary Identification Number" (GIIN). Since 1 July 2014, this number has been required of all custodian banks with which an asset manager has dealings, unless the latter submits the appropriate certification document instead.

 

Special activities

 

 | Ancillary trustee and fiduciary activities will either have to be regulated through an additional agreement with the IRS or the custodian bank can choose to operate as an intermediary and stand guarantor for the independent asset manager.

OK

FATCA

Mit dem Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) wollen die USA ihren Steueranspruch weltweit durchsetzen. Ziel ist die Offenlegung sämtlicher Konten und Investments von US-Steuerpflichtigen im Ausland. Im Dezember 2012 wurde ein Staatsvertrag zwischen der Schweiz und den USA zur Umsetzung der neuen U.S.-Regeln in der Schweiz paraphiert. Vertreter des VSV unterstützten das SIF im Rahmen der FATCA Verhandlungen und sind nun auch in der FATCA Begleitgruppe präsent. So kann sichergestellt werden, dass die Interessen der unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter in den harten Verhandlungen nicht untergehen. Der Staatsvertrag sieht vor, dass grundsätzlich jedes Finanzinstitut mit Domizil in der Schweiz eine Vereinbarung mit dem IRS (Internal Revenue Service) abschliessen muss. Darin werden die Sorgfalts- und Offenlegungspflichten geregelt.

 

Das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den Vereinigten Staaten über die Zusammenarbeit für eine erleichterte Umsetzung von FATCA ist am 2. Juni 2014 in Kraft getreten. Das entsprechende Umsetzungsgesetz hat der Bundesrat auf den 30. Juni 2014 in Kraft gesetzt.

 

Die Umsetzung erfolgt in der Schweiz nach dem so genannten Modell 2. Demnach melden schweizerische Finanzinstitute die Kontodaten mit Zustimmung der betroffenen US-Kunden direkt an die US-Steuerbehörde. Am 8. Oktober 2014 hat der Bundesrat ein Mandat zu Verhandlungen mit den USA über einen Wechsel zu Modell 1 beschlossen, das den automatischen Informationsaustausch zwischen den zuständigen Behörden vorsieht.  Wann ein entsprechendes Abkommen vorliegen wird, ist zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt noch ungewiss.

 

Für die unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter in der Schweiz bringt FATCA folgende wesentlichen Neuerungen:

 

Registrierungspflicht

 | Alle hauptberuflich tätigen Vermögensverwalter müssen sich bei den U.S. Steuerbehörden registrieren. Eine Ausnahme besteht einzig für Einzelfirmen. Detaillierte Informationen zu den einzelnen Registrierungsmöglichkeiten und den damit verbundenen Pflichten finden Sie hier.

 

Zertifizierung als Alternative

 | Als Alternative zur Registrierung besteht die Möglichkeit, sich mittels Form W8-BEN-E bei allen Depotbanken, mit denen zusammengearbeitet wird, zertifizieren zu lassen (dies führt zum Status «certified deemed-compliant foreign financial institution»).

 

Die Online-Registrierung musste bis am 5. Mai 2014 abgeschlossen sein, damit der UVV zum Zeitpunkt des Inkrafttretens des Abkommens als «FATCA-konform» galt. Mit der Registrierung erhält der Vermögensverwalter die «Global Intermediary Identification Number» (GIIN). Diese Nummer wird seit dem 1. Juli 2014 von allen Depotbanken verlangt, mit denen der Vermögensverwalter in Beziehung steht, es sei denn, er reiche stattdessen das Zertifizierungsdokument ein.

 

Spezielle Nebentätigkeiten

 | Für Nebentätigkeiten als Trustee oder treuhänderische Tätigkeit wird entweder zusätzlich eine Vereinbarung mit den U.S. Steuerbehörden abzuschliessen sein oder die Depotbank fungiert als verantwortlicher Mittler und bürgt für den unabhängigen Vermögensverwalter.

 

(Siehe auch Präsentation zum VSV FATCA Informationsanlass vom 2.7.2013 in der „Member Area“ und VSV-Newsletter